Narowal District is a districts in the province of Punjab of Pakistan. Narowal city is the capital of the district. Narowal District is divided into three tehsils, Narowal and Shakargarh. Zafarwal. Before the independence of Pakistan in 1947, Shakargarh town was the headquarters of Shakargarh Tehsil, which was a subdivision of the Gurdaspur District of British India. Under the Radcliffe Award, the tehsil of Shakargarh was transferred to Pakistan and attached to Sialkot District. In July 1, 1991 Narowal and Shakargarh were removed from Sialkot District to form Narowal District.
The total area of the district is approximately 2,337 square kilometres. Narowal Tehsil occupies 1,065 square kilometres while remaining area 1,272 square kilometres falls in Shakargarh Tehsil. According to the 1998 census of Pakistan, Narowal District’s population was 1,256,097 of which only 12.11% were urban
Places of interest
Kartarpur (meaning: The City of God), (near the main town Jassar) is a small village located on the West bank of the Ravi river, some 15 km Narowal city. Guru Nanak spent his last years of life and died in Kartarpur. It is one of the holiest places in Sikhism located in the Majha] region. It is an excellent place to visit in the Jassar area.

Narowal Map: